Evelyn and Abigail

I just realized that we have not posted since the second time Susan went into preterm labor. My bad. Since then, well…a lot has happened.

2012 has already been a most exciting and exhausting year. Susan and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary on January 1st. A day later, Susan went into labor and this time the doctors did nothing to slow it down. There was definitely a mixture of emotions between relief and anxiety, but the LORD’s peace was prevalent.

We wait in the triage room until the doctors come for Susan for surgery. I have to wait in that room for about 15 minutes while they get everything ready. Finally, I am taken back to the surgery room where Susan is lying down with a big curtain placed between her and her stomach. I sit down next to her. We talk about some ridiculous topic of conversation. The anesthesiologist keeps cracking jokes and referring to his daughters as “chicks”. We are very thankful for the brevity.

I might be seated for five minutes, when all of a sudden the doctor tells us that the water is broken. Then a minute later I hear them say, “Happy Birthday Evelyn!” I stand up to look over the curtain, and there she is. My first born daughter! They whisk her away and I bend down and tell Susan, “One down! Only one more to go!” Literally a minute later, we hear, “Happy Birthday Abigail!” Once again I look up and I see my second daughter! She is perfect just like her sister.

I sit back down next Susan to see how she is doing. She is so happy and there is a peace in her expression. She is probably the only woman I know who could manage such grace and beauty throughout such an ordeal. She is already such an incredible mother.

A couple of minutes later they take me back to see my girls. They are in separate beds. The nurses are working on Abigail so they take me over to Evelyn. I get to cut her umbilical cord. Crazy. Awesome. I then take an outrageous amount of photos of Evelyn. Then Abigail. Then they bring Evelyn over to Abigail. I take more photos. I am already that Dad. Evelyn and Abigail are touching hands, and one of the nurses wants to see if they will hold hands. Evelyn takes exception to this, retracts her hand and starts to cry. She has had enough of her sister the last 33 weeks!

I go back to my bride who is managing all of this so well. I show her the pictures of our gorgeous little girls. Her smile says it all. We sit there in a bit of shock and wander. So very thankful.

After the nurses and doctors make sure Susan is fine we get back to the postpartum. Susan is wiped out. I take this time to go check on my girls in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit). This will be their new home for awhile as they grow and learn how to feed. The nurse is most encouraging and I am able to leave them confident in their care of our girls. I go back to check on my beautiful bride. I show her some pictures and then we both fall asleep.

Here are some official numbers from that night:
Evelyn was born at 9:41 PM on 1.2.12 weighing 3lbs 15oz 16 3/4 inches long
Abigail was born at 9:42 PM on 1.2.12 weighing 4lbs 11.5oz 17 3/4 inches long

Our girls are doing exceptionally well and are getting stronger by the day. I will try to follow up with a couple of posts to describe their days so far in the NICU as well as Susan’s recovery from the surgery.

Thanks for all your prayers and encouragement. Keep praying for the girls and for us.

 

 

This entry was posted in Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Evelyn and Abigail

  1. David and Connie Weaver says:

    They are precious! Very happy for you both.

  2. Meredith Cowley says:

    Congratulations! They are beautiful!

  3. Greg Rogers says:

    That’s really nice … I know the feel … I remember when my son was born, it’s the greats feeling ever (being a DAD). Well yall take care and looking forward to meeting them one day!!!!

  4. Cherie Holcombe says:

    Congratulations, they are beautiful…and so is the journey of parenting that you have before you 🙂

  5. Adam Traywick says:

    Congrats buddy. So glad my nieces are doing well. We’re praying for all of you.

  6. stephanie says:

    They are so beautiful! Great account of their special birthday, Graham!
    Susan, I’m so proud of you, my precious friend! i know yall are already loving the most privileged role of your lives as parents! Blessings and prayers, friends! WE’re so excited to yall!

  7. Craig Benno says:

    Wow, they are so tiny. Being a father is a tremendous journey of hope, love, self awareness as well as trials. I pray that your girls will grow tall and strong. That the Lord will grant them a measure of wisdom, knowledge and self control. I pray that they will grow up being a benefit to society, bring much pleasure and joy to their family and above all, know the grace and mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    May he who works powerfully in us, continue to strengthen you with hope, cover you with peace and flow through you with faith filled love and strength.

  8. Pingback: Prayer requests. « Trinitarian Dance

  9. carmen says:

    I’ve read this post numerous times. This time, right now, I’m reading it in complete silence. It’s beautiful in every way. I just love the straightforward account of it all. It certainly brings tears to my eyes. I can’t wait to meet them, see you two & look through my camera for the first time with them.

Leave a Reply

