Summer Reading List

I am usually overly ambitious in planning my reading for any season. This is usually exacerbated by the anticipated lack of required reading for classes. It is, however, better to aim high because in the words of Brother Dave, “you won’t reach any higher than for what you aim.” (I am sure I butchered his quote, but thankfully I find him to be most gracious.)

Anyhow, here is my eclectic list of reading that I am planning for the next couple of weeks.

Introduction to Old Testament Theology: A Canonical Approach  by John Sailhamer
This is my current read, which I am halfway through. It might take a couple of reads to fully grasp all of the elements of this book but I have found it to be such an enlightening book. I have been most surprised it how much it has edified me in my reading of the Bible. It makes me want to immerse myself in Scripture and let it speak to me, teach me, and transform me.

What to Expect when You’re Expecting by Heidi Murkoff
I have absolutely no category in which to place having children. It is uncharted territory for me. This book has already been a useful reference, but to be honest I am not sure if I want to know all the material presented. My favorite part has been the development of the baby week to week. Right now my children (how cool is it to say that?!) have heartbeats beating over a 150 times a minute, a circulatory system, and the development of kidneys, liver, and lungs.

Linguistics for Students of New Testament Greek: A Survey of Basic Concepts and Applications by David Black
Though I am getting my Masters in Old Testament Studies I will always be a student of the New Testament Greek. In fact, at this point I feel more comfortable with Greek than Hebrew. However, there is so much to Greek that I want to keep learning and understanding how the language functions.

The Francis A. Schaeffer Trilogy: Three Essential Books in One Volume (The God Who is There, Escape from Reason, He is there and He is Not Silent) by Francis Schaeffer
This has been on my list for quite some time now. It is to my shame that I have yet to read any of his works. I cannot wait to get started on this.

I usually pick out a novel to work through and I am still debating my choice for the summer. King Henry V by Shakespeare and Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan were my last two novels, but I think I might try to branch out a little. Since I work for Baen Books, a Science Fiction/Fantasy Book Publisher, I am considering one of their recent novels. Maybe Overkill by Buettner or even something more old school by Heinlein.

Suggestions are always welcomed.

This entry was posted in Things That Stir My Affections, Top 5 Lists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

