Two in the Quiver

Right before I left for Israel I found out that my wife, Susan, was pregnant. In some ways it was horrible timing given that I would be away from my wife for the first couple of weeks. The LORD has been most gracious in reminding me of the sweet blessing that is right now growing inside my wife. The last couple of months I have been praying the passage of Psalm 127. It says:

Unless the LORD builds the house,
those who built it labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city,
the watchman stays awake in vain.
It is in vain that you rise up early
and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil;
for he gives to his beloved sleep.
Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD,
the fruit of the womb a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior
are the children of one’s youth.
Blessed is the man
who fills his quiver with them!
He shall not be put to shame
when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

What I love about this passage is that the Psalmist attributes all credit to the LORD for the building of the house and the watching of the city. We live in this reality everyday. The LORD must move or all our movement is in vain.

I have a couple of years left of my masters before attempting a P.h.D. There is a long road ahead for us and we knew that it would be difficult to navigate through these waters by ourselves let alone with children. This passage has reminded me over and over again that though I labor and I watch, what matters is that the LORD builds the house and watches the city, and children are always a blessing in any season.

After coming back from our vacation in Charleston, South Carolina, Susan and I went to our first doctor’s visit. I was a bit nervous, to be honest. Then we got the first ultrasound. The moments leading up to that first image on the screen were excruciating and shamefully I let my mind wander to the worst possibilities. The technician then said, “Interesting.” I thought to myself, “I hope she unpacks that word quickly!” Then she told us that there was not one child in there, but in fact two!

In that moment all my fears and anxieties faded away. I found myself relieved because I knew that the LORD was with us and would be with us. If we were fool enough to think we had one child figured out the LORD definitely remedied us of that as we are now more than ever desperate for Him to provide. We trust that our labor and our watching are not in vain only because we know that it is indeed the LORD who is building and watching. We are so overwhelmed with gratitude with this immense blessing, for as He has given us a head start on our quiver.

Please pray for us and our little ones.

The babies are both about eight weeks along and due February 21, 2012.

This entry was posted in Things That Stir My Affections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two in the Quiver

  1. Kristen says:

    Graham, this is a beautiful post. I am so encouraged by the words you shared from Psalm 127. Thank you. Congratulations on your two little arrows!

  2. Dave Black says:

    Awesome. Our God is SO good. Praying all goes well.

  3. Amanda G. says:

    Congrats guys!! Derek and I are so excited for you! We will be praying that the pregnancy progresses wonderfully!! 🙂 We are going to have quite a few little ones running around our block soon.

Leave a Reply

