My Theme Music

One of the best things about movies is the music. Situations are often times characterized by the music guiding subtly in the background. In a good war movie like Braveheart, the music stirs the emotions to triumph and honor. In independent films the music usually makes a person reflect with the main character of the movie on one’s own life. In reality this musical device in movies is artificial acting as a guide to the viewer on how we, the viewers, should feel about the scene of the movie. Sometimes I wish I could have music in the background of my life so it could guide my emotions giving me clues to how I should feel about any given situation.

Well, the other day I was sitting in a coffee shop that I had regularly visited throughout our stay in Netanya. While I was reading my Hebrew Bible (at least attempting to do so), there sat next to me two older gentlemen with a strong British accent. After awhile I gathered the courage to speak to them. Upon asking where they were from they answered they were from London. They thought I was from Boston. I took this as a compliment. They invited me to sit with them and we sat there two Jews with a Christian and had a wonderful conversation about Scripture, culture, life in the States and life in Israel. I felt pumped up by the conversation as I left my two new friends who had to leave to watch Wimbledon (though they left Britain, Britain hasn’t left them).

The coffee shop, called Vicolad (most likely because the owner I met is named Victor, which he explained to me, “Like Victory!”) is about a half mile from our hotel. I made my way back thinking over our conversation, thanking the Father for such a blessing and I heard this music in the background that was indicative of my emotions. It guided me well, and at even one point to my incredulity I thought I heard words in the music about Christ, which made me more immersed in the moment. I didn’t give it too much thought as I am in a city with much noise. After awhile, however, I kept hearing the same music about Christ. Then I realized that as I had been navigating through the people of the town my iPad, which was in my backpack, had turned on playing music from iTunes. I bet the people all around me were just as confused as to where the music was coming from.

I felt a bit foolish. Not too much though. It very could have been a way for the Holy Spirit to guide my emotions after such a beautiful conversation. Either way, my time in Israel has been such a wonderful experience, a mini-movie of sorts, and it was awesome to have the right music to accompany the situation to stir my affections.

This entry was posted in Things That Stir My Affections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

