I’m going to start reading again…again.

I don’t read much anymore.  It’s not even that I don’t like to- I actually love reading.  I’ve pondered today why that is, and can’t come up with anything good, to be honest.  I work full time about 40 minutes from my house which dominated the good part of five days of the week.  We are active in our church (woot woot North Wake) and spend time with friends as much as we can, but still, I know there is down time in there.  We don’t watch much TV (c’mon we’re seminary students and cable is a beyond what we can/choose to afford just now) and we aren’t just laying around.  So what gives?

The best I came up with after some serious but brief self examination was pure laziness.  My mind is tired after a day of work and I don’t want to concentrate.  I don’t wanna!   Or if I have a bit of brain power and concentration left, I end up using it in conversation, or finding a recipe, or cleaning something.  My life is very exciting.

But today I read this article in the New Yorker (you can read it here) that was quite depressing.  Listen to this: “More alarming are indications that Americans are losing not just the will to read but even the ability.”  AGHHHH!  I remember hearing about older adults whose minds were so alert because they worked on crossword puzzles and read voraciously and I always vowed I be one of those sorts of people.  Sadly, I have not begun a very good pattern in that direction.  But that changes today!

Enter the booklist.

I researched a bunch of top 100 lists (you know the books you have to read before you die sort of thing) and compiled my list of books.  It’s around 160 books currently (realistic I know).  I figured I won’t get through them in a year, or ten probably, but I’ll start with ten this year (once again, realistic.  On opposite day).  So I started highlighting the ones I would start with and ended up with 14.  Anyways.

Here they are!

  1. Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis (I know, I know, you haven’t read that.  No I haven’t…I’m a horrible person and a terrible Christian, blahablahalabhahblah…I know.)
  2. To Kill A Mockingbird, Harper Lee
  3. Little Women, Louisa May Alcott
  4. 4. Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger
  5. The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger (actually saw the movie, sort of hated it, so we’ll see how it goes)
  6. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown (I know I know, not a serious book, but I need a few easy reads)
  7. Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen (I love her)
  8. The Five People You Meet in Heaven, Mitch Albon
  9. How to Win Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie
  10. The Swiss Family Robinson, Johann David Wyss
  11. Never Good Enough, Monica Ramirez Basco
  12. Orthodoxy, G.K. Chesterton (Ironically, I convinced Graham for this to be our “couple’s reading”.  He read the whole thing, I, uh, read a chapter.  Sorry baby!)
  13. The Four Quartets, T.S. Eliot
  14. Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone, J.K. Rowling (say what you will, I hear their quite well written)

Any additions or “oh my goodness DON’T read that one!”s?  I’d love to hear what you’re reading too.

This entry was posted in Goodness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m going to start reading again…again.

  1. Rebekah McGee says:

    I read the time traveler’s wife last summer and it was actually pretty good. I read it before I watched the movie- and I thought the movie was pretty confusing/weird. I also just read Pride & Prejudice (my favorite story!) and have a copy if you want to borrow it for a good read.

Leave a Reply

