Die, Be Forgotten, and Preach the Gospel

In our Greek Class we just went over Chapter 10 of Mark, where Jesus predicts his death and resurrection for a third time. I am sure Jesus’ teachings in this chapter left the disciples painfully uncomfortable. Much of their understanding was challenged to the point that it was basically turned upside down. What I find ironic is that still to this day it can leave a reader feeling that same painful discomfort.

I still think often on how Jesus predicts his suffering, his death, and his resurrection, then calls his disciples to do the same if they wish to follow him. This made me think of Zinzendorf’s famous quote, “Preach the Gospel, die, be forgotten.” Ever since I first heard that quote I loved it. There was something so freeing about it. I would do what God has called me to do, face my eternal destiny, and not worry about my name, because I had lived for the name of Jesus.

After class today, my boy, Jamie, and I were talking about this concept of dying to ourselves and this quote came up. Jamie said it might be better to say, “Die, be forgotten, and preach the Gospel.” I thought that was even better and in my opinion agrees with Paul. He says, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

In reality, we are just dead men, our old identity long forgotten as we live for Christ and his Kingdom.  If we truly die to ourselves then we are free to live for him.  Our death is daily, but we have hope because Christ is the Resurrection and the Life.

So let us die, be forgotten, and preach the Gospel.

This entry was posted in Quote of the Day, Things That Stir My Affections, What Not and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Die, Be Forgotten, and Preach the Gospel

  1. Jay says:

    Amen brother

  2. What a great quote to keep our pride in check and our purpose pure when we preach. I think my favorite part however is when you were talking to your ‘boy’ Jamie.

  3. LJM says:

    Similar to Bonhoeffer’s “When Christ calls a man, he bids him come and die.” The challenge is noble and daunting given our instinct for self-preservation.

Leave a Reply

