Trying and Learning

So, I had to present Mark Chapter 6 today to my Greek class.  It was humbling to be honest.  My teacher took the first 5 to 10 minutes to point out all the errors (including grammatical mistakes in English) in my translation.  Though I wish I could say I took it like a man I felt like I was four years old. The truth is, I had many people praying for me so I know that none of it was in vain.  Mr. Hall, my wife’s dad, told me that even if it goes badly then God will use that too.  There is much wisdom in that.  Hurt pride can be the best of things but this experience will only be a positive one if I can learn from my mistakes.

In preparing for this presentation, I had stayed up late at night on a couple of occasions. One such night I was trying to finish up my “wooden” translation of the text.  When I got to the part where the disciples screamed out because they saw Jesus walking on water, I had translated it “they screamed like little girls.” I was tired and I couldn’t think of a better way to explain it.  I know that is how I would have screamed. Well, I had forgotten to take this out of  my translation when I sent the first draft of my presentation to the entire class and professor!  Luckily, I was able to send an updated version where the disciples did not scream like little girls.  I could only imagine what that first 5 to 10 minutes would have looked like if it had been in there!

I have to admit that I am a bit down after the presentation only because I know I can do better. I appreciate the tough criticism from my teacher because I know he wants me to get better and I won’t get better unless I am challenged.  If my pride died a little today then it is some kind of victory and for that I am thankful.

What came to my mind when the disciples screamed like little girls is this video below. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Goodness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying and Learning

  1. Special K says:

    Embrace the criticism, bro… it will allow you to grow (that rhymed). That said, I doubt you did as poorly as you think. Prayed for you. Keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

