Top 5 Favorite Movies

It is late and I cannot get to sleep.  I have committed to blogging everyday and I would hate to end a good habit so quickly.  Either way, I am not feeling ultra deep today so I thought I would share something more frivolous.  My top 5 Favorite moves.

I like to ask people what their favorite movie is.  I love movies and it always fascinates me what others consider to be the best.  I am a frequent reader of Roger Ebert and hope one day to be a published film critic myself (not really just sounds like an awesome job).

#5 Snatch: For the longest time my boy, Dino, wanted to rent this movie, but I kept shooting him down.  For some reason it didn’t seem appealing.  After renting it the first time, however, I was hooked.  I also enjoyed Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels, which made me love (most of) the work by Guy Ritchie.  The dialogue is incredibly entertaining, Brat Pitt is hilarious, the directing is creative, and the boxing scene at the end is one of my favorite scenes of all time.

#4 Shawshank Redemption: Even writing this down it is hard to believe that I would even have three movies above this.  I question the man who does not put this movie in their top 5.  It is one of the most triumphant movies ever made and a movie I can pick up at any point and follow it enthralled until the end.

#3 Chariots of Fire: This is my dad’s favorite and as I get older it climbs higher on my list.  I am sure in the next 5 years it might even pass #2.  I have always loved running and I find myself involved in the story.  There is a great comparison between the two runners, one a Christian missionary, Eric Liddell, and the other, Harold Abrahams, who is Jewish.  It is a beautiful, compelling story that always moves me to want to run and “to feel God’s pleasure”!

#2 The Departed: I am sure this will surprise some people, especially if they don’t know me.  I watched this five times in the theater (only paying for one of those times).  Everything about this movie is amazing sans cussing.  The acting is superb (DeCaprio, Wahlberg, Damon, Nicholson).  The plot is intricate and who can top Scorescese in a crime suspense?  There are also many great one-liners that when my boy and I are bored, we end up texting each other lines from the movie. Dorks, I know.

#1 Braveheart: This is it.  Every time I have thought about replacing it I would see it once more and fall in love all over again.  The first time I watched this was when I was in 6th grade and I believe it changed my life.  Much to the annoyance of my friends, I can quote almost every line from the movie and I still get absolutely pumped up whenever I hear the speech at Stirling even if it is for the 1,983,343rd time.  Though its historicity is way off (unforgivable for most movies by a History Major), it is powerful story told beautifully and I am moved every time.

That is it.  I am always happy to hear people’s top 5 list so please feel free to share.  Susan cannot narrow anything down to one thing, so we do Top 5 lists often. Alright, time for bed.

“They can take our lives, but they can never take our FREEDOM!”

This entry was posted in Things That Stir My Affections, Top 5 Lists and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 5 Favorite Movies

  1. John says:

    Nothing glaring, but I believe Inception deserves mentioning, as does Tombstone (in terms of quotability, it can’t be beat, even by the Departed). Also, Good Will Hunting almost has to be listed. Since everyone’s a critic, here’s mine:

    (5) Tombstone
    (4) Inception
    (3) The Departed
    (2) Braveheart
    (1) Good Will Hunting

    • I can appreciate that list, John. Good Will Hunting should be in my top 5 and if I write the list again, it will definitely replace Snatch. Inception most likely will get in the top five. It was phenomenal but there has to be a wait of some sort to see if it earns its spot. The Top Five has to stand the test of time. And Val Kilmer was incredible in Tombstone. One of the top ten characters of all time. In fact, that might be the next list…

Leave a Reply

