Reasons We Don’t Pray

I was thinking about prayer this morning and asked myself why I don’t pray more.  I would say in my mind that I believe prayer is powerful but my actions tell a different story.

When we look at Scripture we see that prayer is of the utmost importance.  Jesus is consistently going to the Father in prayer.  He then teaches His disciples how to pray to the Father. (Matthew 6:9-13)  Using the illustration of a widow annoyingly begging an ‘unjust king’ to the point that he eventually acquiesces, Jesus says we should do the same with a Just King. (Luke 18) Paul tells us to pray without stopping and for all things. (1Thes 5:17; Phil. 4:6 )  James says that prayer is powerful and effective.  He even uses the example of Elijah when he prayed for rain to stop and then start again.   (James 5:16-18)

I have even seen in my own life when prayer after prayer has been answered.  I remember when I was in South America and getting typhoid (my partner got malaria) and we prayed for rain during the middle of dry season to get back to safety. God answered those prayers and he sent rain.

Yet, I still find myself in seasons that are not defined by prayer.  It is as if I forget that God took me from slavery in Egypt and I start grumbling about bread. We so easily forget.

So, believe that there are two primary reasons for such a “drought” of prayer.  They are Unbelief and Pride.

At times we simply don’t believe that God could save a certain person.  Or that God could get us out of the mess we have made.  For this I am reminded of the man that came to Jesus to heal his son and said to him, “if you can do anything, have compassion on us and help us.” To which Jesus responds, “If you can! All things are possible for one who believes.” And like the father we must “immediately” cry out in tears, “I believe; help my unbelief!” (Mark 9:22-24)

The truth is, if we truly believed that prayer worked we would spend much more time doing it. May God help our unbelief.

Other times we are too proud to go to the Father.  We want to do it on our own.  But if in Christ we truly live, and move, and have our being, then all that we do must be given over to God in prayer.  When we attempt to face the day without prayer we are in essence saying to God that we don’t need Him.

This post is really something I am wrestling with in my own life.  If I really believe in the power of prayer then my life will be saturated with intercession with the Father. My every breath is dependent upon God’s mercy so may I live in such a way consciously desperate for Him.  Let us approach God boldly and humbly, expecting great things from Him, being absolutely desperate for Him to move.

Then, and maybe only then, will rain come.

This entry was posted in Goodness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reasons We Don’t Pray

  1. Special K says:

    Muy bueno, Miguel. Great blog!

    “Labor with me in prayer.”
    -Paul, captain of the Christian varsity team and resident NT badass

  2. LJM says:

    I think there a great temptation to take action instead of waiting upon the Lord. Prayer is of utmost importance – “Work without prayer is presumption. Prayer without work is perversion.” Good post and needed reminder

Leave a Reply

