Joining the Conversation

Susan and I had a wonderful dinner with the Naramores tonight, followed by some dancing game on the Wii.  I am a terrible dancer.  Terrible in the sense that I would almost rather do anything else in the world besides that.  Because it was the Naramores and because there was some kind of point system for competition it was actually fun to do the dancing game.  Either way it was good pizza and good fellowship with fellow Saints for which I am thankful.

Anyway, after a couple of weeks deactivating my Facebook account I have already decided to return to the Social Network.  To be honest, it has been a battle. I really don’t like Facebook because it is one more addition to the other clutter in my life. I also think there is danger in the false community it promotes.  I mention this in an earlier blog.

That said, I do think it can be used for good.  Susan and I went to the 20/20 Conference here at Southeastern Seminary, which was about Conversing with the Culture, sharing one’s faith in a Postmodern Society.  It was challenging and made me realize that I must be intentional about engaging the world. The social network is a medium where conversation is being held and every voice imaginable is joining that conversation. Both good and bad.  I believe that Christians should not only join the conversation but be intentional about the Good New of Christ.

We live in a broken place ruined by sin.  Death is a reality. Christ is the only hope for humanity.  If the Social Network is another opportunity for proclaiming this Good News then it is my responsibility and privilege to proclaime Christ boldly in that forum.

1 Corinthians 10:31, where Paul says, “So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God”.  The Social Network is just another thing to cultivate for the Kingdom of God.  This means we must read and write well for His glory.  May we join the Conversation boldly proclaiming Him who brought us out of the darkness into the marvelous light.

This entry was posted in Goodness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joining the Conversation

  1. Pingback: Broadcasting ‘Whatsoever’ | The Michaels

Leave a Reply

